Thomas Collins quote from Iain Murray’s book “Wesley and Men Who Followed”

“I asked myself, How may I best improve these three hours upon the coach top? It darted through my mind, with vivid light, as a beam from the Lord, that a man can do no better things than believe the love of God to himself and his species. I saw – as I never saw before – how all stimulus to holy work comes out of that. I therefore at once gave myself up to a believing meditation of the truth which, with unusual demonstration, the Spirit had borne home upon my heart. As I did so, the meaning of the cross marvellously shone out. My faith strengthened. I took hold of God’s love to me and to man as I had never done before. The journey seemed done too soon. I got down from that coach-top with an indelible lesson and a soul on fire.”

Leave a Reply

