Scripture of the day: Isaiah 50:7-9

I read this the other day. No doubt these are the words of Christ himself as well as Isaiah, but are they not also our words now that our accuser has been silenced by Jesus’ work on the cross?

Sometimes the great accuser confronts the believer with his or her sin. Satan’s arguments are forceful and convincing. They can throw you into despondency, depression, self-condemnation, spiritual apathy, faithlessness, prayerlessness.

But God’s word speaks into such situations. Remember that the accuser cannot now accuse those who are in Christ. And remember that He who vindicates you is near.

7But the Lord GOD helps me;
therefore I have not been disgraced;
(R) therefore I have set my face like a flint,
and I know that I shall not be put to shame.

8(S) He who vindicates me is near.
Who will contend with me?
Let us stand up together.
Who is my adversary?
Let him come near to me.
9(T) Behold, the Lord GOD helps me;
who will declare me guilty?
Behold, all of them will wear out like a garment;
the moth will eat them up.

One thought on “Scripture of the day: Isaiah 50:7-9

  1. Pingback: WFW: Isaiah 40:8 | Our New Life Together

Leave a Reply

